KITCHEN NOTES: eleven. (eggplant adobo)

this is the eleventh installment of kitchen notes. post-it wisdom from my kitchen. a way to remind myself of the important things.

it is traditional for filipinos to eat with their hands. i wasn’t allowed to eat with my hands until i was about 16 years old. up until that point, i learned to eat with silverware and used it at every meal. i was always jealous that my parents would use their hands. as a kid, i just wanted to be the same.

it is a real art to eat with your hands. it can easily get messy, which is what i think my parents were worried about if they allowed me to eat with my hands at a young age. i was never the most graceful person.

i remember the first time i ate with my hands. it was a beautiful disaster. sloppy, of course. the texture of the rice was soft and luscious. i wasn’t vegetarian at that point, so i ate the chicken version of today’s recipe. my food invaded my nostrils. i had never felt more connected to my food.

to this day, eating with my hands is my favorite food experience.

not daring enough to eat rice and other savory dishes with your hands? cook something that really utilizes your hands (anything with dough is a good start). close your eyes. breathe deep. report back.

eggplant adobo
printable recipe – yield 4 servings

ingredients
1 large eggplant, cubed
4-5 garlic cloves, peeled and smashed
1 cup plain vinegar
6 tablespoons soy sauce
2 bay leafs
1 1/2 teaspoon whole black peppercorn
vegetable oil
salt, to taste

in the pot over medium-high heat, pour enough oil to just cover the bottom of the pot. add the eggplant and cook until slightly browned. add garlic, vinegar, soy sauce, bay leafs, and peppercorn and stir. bring to boil and then turn down to medium low heat. cover and cook for about 20 minutes until eggplant is cooked through. season with salt, to taste. serve hot over rice.

Leave a Reply

